Hoi An Home Stay and the My Son Ruins

Bela on fish pond dock

Bela wrote a couple of blogs that touched on Hoi An at belawren.wordpress.com, particularly about how we spent Christmas so I will write about our home stay and the My Son ruins.

We stayed slightly outside of the city at a family home called Riverside Impression where we were completely spoiled. They took such good care of us that we kept extending our stay. The home backs onto fields and there is a sweet fish pond behind the house.

fields in Hoi An

We spent some time exploring the countryside and meandering along the river. The vistas were misty as it was quite cool and rainy but we just layered up in warm clothes and wandered.

boat driver

We managed to make it out to My Son, the ruins near to Hoi An. We arrived just about an hour before closing and managed to miss the crowds. We almost had the place to ourselves.

Craig and Bela in My Son

column in My Son  My Son

The light was amazing. We each wandered quietly among the ruins soaking in the stories of the place. I think that the photos speak for themselves, it was magical.

Leave a comment